The Reality of Writing

I just attended the monthly meeting of the California Writer’s Club, Mount Diablo Branch. Tamim Ansary spoke about why we write. I’ve been writing ever since I learned how. Short autobiographies from 3rd grade, papers for school (I returned to college in my 20’s and again in my 40’s just so I could write), letters, reports, stories, articles. I even wrote a book.

Thinking while writing is a lubricant for the mind. And the best part is the “limitless-ness” of writing. It provides a perfect route for self-expression, whether that’s opinion, imagination, historical, etc. It’s free and it can be done any time of the day or night. All it takes is a little time. Tamim writes six hours per day. That’s a high bar for me. I’m happy if I write for an hour or two.

Now that I’ve finished a book, I find I haven’t finished it at all. The initial creation is done, but now I’m in the editing phase. Then there’s the rewrite and re-edit. That’s the reality of writing…for those who want to write for money. I write for the love of it. Even when I write in my journal, it makes me feel like I accomplished something. I also enjoy the company of other writers, and have become close comrades with my Writers on the Journey.

I write because it enriches my life in a quiet way. For me, that’s the reality of writing.

One Response to The Reality of Writing

Leave a Reply

