Why Do Writers Write?

What is this compulsion in me?  This burning desire to write words down.  This screeching in my head that won’t stop until the words are released?  A writer once told me that they tried to stop writing, but had to keep coming back to it.  I didn’t understand at the time, but I think I do now.  I read a great line in Erin Morgenstern’s Night Circus, that sums up my need to write:

You may tell a tale that takes up residence in someone’s soul, becomes their blood and self and purpose.”

I write because I have something to say, something that I think might make a difference in someone’s life.

Why do you write?

2 Responses to Why Do Writers Write?

  1. I write for the same reason as you. There’s a compulsion. There’s something I have to say, something I’ll never understand if I don’t take out the time to sit down and say it.

    Sometimes it surprises me when people say they “love” writing. For me, it truly is a matter of compulsion. Something boils up within me, and writing is the only way to release the steam that builds.

  2. Joanne says:

    What I write may not make a difference in anyone’s life, but the words still fight to emerge – to have a life of their own.

Leave a Reply

