Californ-eye-eh?

A nice woman from North Carolina sat next to me on a plane from San Francisco to Atlanta last week. After an hour or so of occasional small talk (newborn grand baby in Hawaii, daughter married to marine), she ventured to ask me what I thought of the politics out there in California. I rarely discuss politics, and never with strangers. But we were sitting inches apart so I had to come up with something. I said there will always be politics, and I mostly ignore it. California is beautiful, the people are nice, and the weather is great.  I love living there.  There’s something for everyone, and I can’t say anything bad about it.  And politics is mostly just noise. That expression seemed to surprise her but but she accepted it, with a shake of the head and a comment about it being crazy. Couldn’t really disagree with that.

And how is the real estate market in San Francisco?  I explained about the tech firms expanding and the cost of housing and rentals going up. Then I showed her the graphs in Time Magazine I had just finished looking at. Every state was shown indicating the severity and breadth of their taxes — corporate, individual, sales, property.  Of course, California was all red, indicating high on every line except property tax. While North Carolina was high on everything except corporate tax. I pulled it out to show her.

And what’s the latest exercise craze?  Well, running and biking are very big. Then there’s a new studio to vibrate the fat off. Oh, and there’s a new pole dancing studio by my office.

She stopped asking questions after that.

Yep, something for everyone in California. Land of the free. Home of the brave.

Leave a Reply

