Choosing a Website Photographer for Writers

When I decided to have professional photos taken for my website (www.jillhedgecock.com), I asked around for recommendations from my writer friends, but their leads were not exactly what I wanted.  So I turned to the information highway.  I had hoped that a simple internet search would uncover a local photographer that specialized in author headshots, but that also had experience photographing dogs.  Yeah, well, that detailed of a specialty was a pipe dream.

I had better luck when I queried the broader terms of head shots, pet photographer and San Francisco Bay Area.  From this search, I narrowed my choices down to two very different options.  One was a traditional business and the other was a family boutique operation that either shot on location or in their home.  I soon discovered that the boutique family operation was shifting the focus of their photography business (RicKaraPhotography) to include web hosting and design (www.RkeHost.com).   I probably would have opted for the more personal experience of working with a less commercial business anyway, but this information, as well as Ric’s promise that if you weren’t 100% satisfied you didn’t pay, cinched the deal.

From the moment I walked in the door, I knew that Ric was more interested in producing a quality product than maximizing profit.  Ric discussed the type of look I wanted.  He took a few practice shots and we discussed the particulars that I liked and didn’t like in the shots.  As the three-hour session progressed, I was allowed as many outfit changes as I wanted.   At the end of the photo shoot, I had a variety of poses with and without my dog.

We wrapped up by reviewing the available background choices, but when I got the photos and compared it to my website pages, I didn’t like how my choice blended with the website.  Ric was very accommodating and indulged my request to plunk a variety of backgrounds behind a sample photo to aid a change of backgrounds.  He also accommodated by touch up requests.

Here are a few words of caution about choosing a photography service.  Make sure you will own the copyright to the photographs.  Have a clear understanding of what is included in the price.  You will need to decide if you want outdoor or indoor photos.  If you choose shooting indoors in a studio, you may have the choice of preselect backgrounds or shooting on a green screen.  I chose shooting against the green screen so I would have maximum flexibility in background choices.  While all of these options may be important considerations in selecting a photographer, I think the most important criterion is to pick someone you are comfortable working with.  RicKaraPhotography (www.RkeHost.com)  was the perfect fit for my needs.  I couldn’t be more pleased with the final results.

 

 

 

2 Responses to Choosing a Website Photographer for Writers

  1. Fran Cain says:

    Jill, thanks for leading us…hope to be in this position one day!

  2. Reblogged this on Writers on the Journey Blog and commented:
    After a few mis-steps. The new photos are now uploaded.

Leave a Reply

