Her Christmas Tree

December 25th was my mother’s birthday. I wrote this poem for her after Christmas last year. I post it now in her memory.

 

HER CHRISTMAS TREE

By Cheryl Spanos

 

Decorating the Christmas tree for Dad

I unwrap ornaments

Felted angel, painted sled

Ones I had made when I was young.

Each a memory Mom had wrapped

Carefully preserved in tissue.

Touching them like holding a part of her

For one brief moment, having her back.

 

Later, at the cemetery

Hanging ornaments on the pine near her grave

Crystal snowflake, golden dove

Tinkle of wind chimes and glass bells

Each a tribute left in remembrance.

Even on that windswept hill

Overlooking the frozen lake

Mom has a Christmas tree.

 

4 Responses to Her Christmas Tree

  1. Cheryl,

    This is touching and poignant. I read and re-read it.
    Reminds me of my own late mom. Thanks
    Nannette Rundle Carroll

Leave a Reply

