So Busy

I once watched an episode of Sex and the City. Someone bumped Carrie Bradshaw on the bustling crowded street in Manhattan, almost knocking her down. “You’re so busy” she said, in exasperation. I feel that same sentiment every day.

Everyone I know is so busy. Our lives are chock full of…what? Working to make ends meet, of course. But in addition, my friends with children hurry from breakfast or dinner to schlep kids to school or a [fill-in-the-blank] match. My empty nest friends hurry from coffee to shopping to hair to doctor appointments, or even cocktails in the latest “cougar” bar. There are luncheons, dinners, business meetings, volunteer days. When at home, we are all busy watching TV or sitting in front of the computer or iPad. There’s shopping, reading, writing, or surfing. Don’t forget Facebook and Twitter. We seem to have filled every moment in the day.

A year or so ago, I found myself with a gap when my husband took the swing shift. Suddenly I stopped being busy in the evenings. It came as a shock. I didn’t know what to do with myself. I tried insinuating myself into the lives of some friends, but they were already busy with other things, leaving me left out and alone. “You’re so busy.” After a few weeks though, I filled my time until I could again say “I’m so busy”.

It’s as if we are on a frantic whirlwind of activity, and when we aren’t, we feel out of sorts, anxious and craving to be busy. Either way there are complaints. Our glass is either too empty or too full. When is it just right? What happened to quiet time? Sunday naps and family dinners? Along those lines, I’ve promised myself I’m going to meditate every day. Just as soon as I’m not so busy.

Do you find yourself too busy? Not busy enough? Or is your glass just right?

2 Responses to So Busy

  1. Too busy? You bet. The important thing is to make time to do the things that keep you fulfilled. When I don’t write I know I’ve gone from busy to overwhelm. Let’s just say everyone around me suffers. Yet I am at my best when my plate is full. It is all about balance.

  2. Susan Berman says:

    Even though I’m retired, I seem to be busy. How did I work full time, cook dinner every night for seven, and manage time for Bruce? (I was younger.) I’m not too busy – just undisciplined and easily distracted! S.

Leave a Reply

