Taming My Dragon

 

Because Mr. James Dalessandro, author of “1906,” so recommended it, I set out to buy myself a Dragon.  No, not the kind of Dragon that breathes fire, nor the kind of Dragon that tried to destroy dear Harry Potter.  This one is only available at electronics stores.  It’s a dictation devise for computers.

For my installation, I waited for a cold, sunny day – the cold to keep me indoors, and the sunshine to add to my ready-for-anything optimism.  I installed the program and began to follow the instructions with briming optimism.  I even dictated a piece about our Maracaibo maids for my book.

What’s this, I asked as I looked over what I had dictated.  The formatting  was off.  There  were no indents and the paragraphs  were not doublespaced.  How do I go about fixing this?

Still optimistic and now determined (the hopeless romantic I am), I began searching through Dragon’s infinite amount of information to find answers.  They weren’t forthcoming, but I was still hopefull.  After all, how much more difficult could it be?

Today is a rainy and cold day.  I decided this was the perfect opportunity for me to work out the kinks between me and my Dragon. I began immediately after lunch and I read, reread and re-re-read information and multiple Dragon help tips.  It’s well into the dinner hour now.  Here I still sit in front of my laptop.  The only things I can make my Dragon do successfully is turn the microphone on and off and take straight dictation.  Still no double spaced paragraphs and no indents.  When I say “paragraph,” all my Dragon does is type the word paragraph.  Now I have a headache and my eyes are twirling around in opposite directions.  Either I can’t do Dragon-speak clearly, or I have the dumbest Dragon on earth.

For anyone out there thinking of buying their own Dragon, let me give you a piece of free advice:  When you buy your Dragon, buy a big bottle of aspirin at the same time.  Either that, or a bottle of Wild Turkey.

You are going to need it, honey.

 

 

3 Responses to Taming My Dragon

  1. chs says:

    Oh dear. Unfortunately, I don’t have any experience with Dragon. You might try posting a question to the CWC Backfence. I know that others in the club have used Dragon. Maybe one of them could help?

  2. Draw forth your sword and slay it! If that doesn’t work, hire a teen. They can figure out any gadget.

  3. Joan Tarr says:

    How brave you are, dear maiden! While I am still struggling to learn the basics of my PC (anything other than sending e-mails or surfing the ‘net is considered ‘advanced’ in this household) you are conquering new territory. Good for you. Before long that dragon will be eating out of your hand.

Leave a Reply

