To Kill a Mockingbird

2010 was my year of museums.  2011 is my year of Classics.  I am “reading” two at the moment, one of which is To Kill a Mockingbird.  Actually, I am listening to Sissy Spacek narrate the Book on CD.  

I don’t recall much of my impressions of this book as a high schooler, but as an adult I have to say I love it.  Scout resonates with charm and honesty.  I have experienced both a sweet nostalgia for my own carefree summer days as well as regret for my own children who never openly wandered the neighborhood.  My girls don’t really know our neighbors and never really hung out together with their sisters.  

As a writer, I understand the timelessness of this book.   The characters are well developed.  I loved Ms. Caroline Fisher’s discomfort with Scout’s reading ability and how her training had not prepared her for the issues of the small, relatively poor town of Maycomb.   A compelling air of mystery surrounds Boo Radley.  Scout keeps us guessing as to whether he is someone to be feared or just a tragic fellow.   

Scout’s short temper, her and her brother’s antics are universal experiences that will endear readers for decades to come.  I am about half-way through the book and am anxious to get in the car for the next chapter.

What are your favorite Classics?  Have you reread them as adults and found your experience of the story altered by your own changing perspective?

One Response to To Kill a Mockingbird

  1. chs says:

    I’ve reread Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings and Austen’s Pride and Prejudice – two all-time favorites. I enjoy them immensely every time I read them.

    But I did (re)discover several classics while reading to my kids when they were younger. I particularly liked Oliver Twist and Anne of Green Gables. There were aspects of both books which appealed to me as an adult, but which sailed over my kids’ heads.

    To Kill A Mockingbird is another that I’d like to reread. Nice post, Jill!

Leave a Reply

