My self-publishing journey – step 1

Since my last posting you probably wondered if I’d forgotten all of you.  Not so.

Earlier in the Spring I announced my intention to end the fruitless search for an agent for my novel “In Dangerous Waters.”  The novel is complete.  I think it’s a good story, and most of my critique group seem to agree.

Self-publishing (dealt with in several terms, I find) has become increasingly popular, even in the case of some big name authors.  I took a short course on the topic and did some reading.  If others can do that, why can’t I?  I can, and will.  Or more directly, as I post this, I have – begun the steps, that is.  I’m not “published” yet but soon will be.  I’d like to share some of that excursion with you.

Since the BLOG provides a convenient path to tell you of my experiences, I plan to post several times, usually as relevant events occur in the self-publishing process as I experience them.  I welcome your questions on any related issue.

For starters, let’s look at my first active step.  The class and reading proved some background, a place to pick up some of the terminology and an overall understanding of how the self-publishing process compared with the tradition path.  They also convinced me I needed experienced help if I hoped for a book in hand, and eventually available in e-book format as well.

A member of the CWC Mt. Diablo Branch, through the “Back Fence”, recommended I contact Pete Masterson, himself a published author, who specializes in formatting content for authors as well as managing the entire process from raw draft to book in hand.  Pete is well-regarded and past president of the Bay Area Independent Publishers Association (that may not be the exact title.) Pete and I hit if off right away with a phone call and a lengthy discussion.  He appeared pleased I’d done much of my homework, would be a cooperative client, and had a good idea of what was ahead of me, but simply needed some experienced help.

So we began.

2 Responses to My self-publishing journey – step 1

  1. chs says:

    Keep us posted on your progress, Jack. We’re cheering for you, and looking forward to being able to buy your book.

  2. Good job Jack. Can’t wait to see your book in print.

Leave a Reply

