Taking the wind from my sails

For the past few months, I’ve been focused on one writing goal — to get my latest manuscript ready in time for the Jack London Writers Conference. I’ve polished my novel, written a synopsis, and practiced my pitch. My plan was to launch my manuscript at this conference.

The Jack London Writers Conference is hosted by the Peninsula branch of the California Writers Club (CWC) and held every other year. I had attended Jack London two years ago and it was fabulous — entertaining key-note speakers, great sessions on craft, and lots of agents. There were fewer literary agents participating this time. And yet I’d booked an appointment with an agent who would be a great match for my novel.

Yesterday, I learned that the Jack London Writers Conference has been cancelled – another casualty of the slumping economy and troubled publishing industry. No conference writing contest (which I had entered), no inspiring talks, no networking, and no appointment with that promising literary agent. Rats!

It is doubly sad that this cancellation should happen this year, during the CWC’s centennial celebration. “Sail On!” is the club’s motto. Yes, the CWC will sail onward, as will I. But yesterday’s sad news took some of the wind out of my sails.

3 Responses to Taking the wind from my sails

  1. I immediately thought of you when I learned of the conference cancellation. All that hard work will pay off, just hang in there.

    • chs says:

      Thanks, Jill. Despite the disappointment, none of the work on my manuscript was wasted. Now I have to compile a list of agents and start querying.

  2. David George says:

    Only 100 writers signed up for the conference when they were expecting 300 or more. The SF/Peninsula branch faced a $43,000 deficit which is way beyond any branch’s ability to handle. I, to am disappointed but was notified that the JL Contest will be completed – a small consolation. Go after the agents you have on your list. They may be even more eager to get together with you as a result of the cancellation.

    – David.

Leave a Reply

