A new plotting approach

For several months now I’ve been trying to define a plot line for a new novel I’m working on dealing with the United Nations.  I have a beginning, and end and one or two middle events – but no path, just a collection.  Like building a brick wall, I’m building brick equivalents.  I needed a plan.  What will this wall (story) look like.  From this I can build it.

Some time ago I read a treatise on plot development that caught my eye.  The writer had suggested that when a problem such as mine emerges, consider the reverse approach – start at the end and work backward being careful to fit in all the sub-plot elements.  Sounds clumsy since I’m accustomed to following a plan or blueprint, but I’ve tried it and so far it seems to be unlocking the mental block that has frustrated me for some time.  Should you find yourself in a similar quandry, give this “backward” approach a try.

2 Responses to A new plotting approach

  1. chs says:

    Great tip, Jack. I’ll have to give that a try when I get stuck on plot. And I’m looking forward to reading your newest story.

  2. An excellent formula against writer’s block. Good tip!

Leave a Reply

